Upcoming Awards for all Library Types

picture of National Medal

I Love My Librarian Award
The American Library Association (ALA) invites library users to nominate their favorite librarians for the 2016 I Love My Librarian Award. The award recognizes the public service of exceptional public, school, or academic librarians who have transformed lives and communities. Up to 10 librarians will be selected. Each will receive a $5,000 cash award and a travel stipend to attend the award ceremony in New York City on November 30, 2016.
A nomination form is available at ilovelibraries.org/ilovemylibrarian.
ALA is accepting nominations now through September 19, 2016.

National Medal for Museum and Library Service
The Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) is now accepting nominations for the National Medal for Museum and Library Service 2017 awards. The award recognizes libraries and museums that make significant and exceptional contributions in service to their communities. Anyone—an employee, board member, member of the public, or elected official—can nominate an institution. All types of nonprofit libraries and library organizations, associations and consortia are eligible, including academic, school, digital, and special libraries. The ten winning institutions are honored at a ceremony in Washington, D.C., spotlighted in the media, and invited to host a two-day visit from StoryCorps to record community member stories. A nomination form is available at www.imls.gov/node/7488/.
Deadline is October 3, 2016.