Idaho Commission for LibrariesAddress: 325 W State St., Boise, ID 83702
Phone: (208) 334-2150 | In-State Toll Free: (800) 458-3271
Printed from the Idaho Commission for Libraries website: http://libraries.idaho.gov
Although all of the employment laws that might affect your library cannot be covered in detail, the following list contains important laws and what they do. These descriptions are not intended to fully explain the law, but to send up some "warning signals" of areas that you should be concerned about.
Minimum Wage –Federal - http://www.dol.gov/whd/minimumwage.htm and State - http://labor.idaho.gov/dnn/LaborLaws/tabid/667/Default.aspx Almost all library workers will fall under these minimum wage laws. Make sure that you are paying them at minimum wage or more.
Fair Labor Standards Act (FLSA) - http://www.dol.gov/compliance/laws/comp-flsa.htm This includes the federal minimum wage, and it also lists requirements for overtime pay and compensatory (comp) time. It also prohibits employees from contributing volunteer hours doing the same thing that they get paid for.
The Fair Labor Standards Act - http://www.dol.gov/elaws/faq/esa/flsa/toc.htm#cl also includes child labor provisions, which set certain limitations on the use of juveniles as employees. If you use students under 18 years of age as pages, you should be aware of these restrictions.
State - http://humanrights.idaho.gov/ and Federal Civil Rights Laws - http://www.eeoc.gov/facts/qanda.html prohibit employers from discriminating on the basis of race, color, religion, sex, or national origin, in hiring, promotion, and other employment policies.
Age Discrimination Employment Act (ADEA) - http://www.dol.gov/dol/topic/discrimination/agedisc.htm prohibits employers from discriminating on account of age. The protected age group is 40 years old and older.
Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) -
http://www.ada.gov/ strengthens prohibitions on discrimination against the disabled and requires employers to make their facilities accessible to the disabled and to make reasonable changes in their accommodations for the employment of disabled people.
The Family Medical Leave Act - http://www.dol.gov/whd/fmla/index.htm allows employees to take up to 12 work weeks of paid or unpaid leave for certain medical or family reasons. It requires that employees taking such leave should be allowed to return to their original job or an equivalent job with equivalent pay, benefits, and other employment terms and conditions.
Prohibited Conduct By Public Servants –
Idaho Code 18-1351 http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1351.htm and 18- 1359 http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1359.htm, 18-1360 http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1360.htm, 18- 1361 http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1361.htm, 18- 1361A http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1361A.htm and 18-1362 http://www.legislature.idaho.gov/idstat/Title18/T18CH13SECT18-1362.htm lists prohibited conduct on the part of Idaho public servants. One of the prohibitions is against nepotism, the hiring and employment of a person's relatives.
WebJunction supervising legal information - http://id.webjunction.org/supervision