Idaho Commission for Libaries Logo

Director 101 Training Sessions

New Directors in Idaho have a lot of learning to do from the second they are chosen by their board of trustees to serve. When you become a the Director of your Library we at the Idaho Commission for Libraries are here to help you become acquainted with your new roles and responsibilities.

With increased demand for consultation and education on being a Library Director in Idaho we at ICfL have started the Director 101 program. This program is meant to give information and context to the many issues and timelines a new director in Idaho may face during their first few years in service. Applications are solicited and taken for a cohort of new directors and then those directors are chosen. This program launched in November of 2022 with a pilot year of 16 new library directors.

Applications for the 2024 Cohort are closed! There were 14 applicants selected for the 2024 Cohort.

For information on this program or questions please contact:

Clay Ritter

Clay Ritter

Public Library Consultant
Email / 208-639-4177
Read my Blogs

The Director 101 Training sessions will consist of 2 one-hour sessions each month when held virtually. The first hour will be designated for a presentation and learning opportunity. The second session will be referred to as “office hours” commission staff will attend the second session to help answer questions and give time to those who might desire more of a one-on-one experience. Both sessions should be attended by all participants.

The 2024 Cohort sessions will be held on the following months and topics. Sessions will be virtual unless otherwise noted. Topics are subject to change.

  • January: E-Rate
  • February: Policies
  • March: Staffing/Scheduling and Day-to-Day Operations
  • April: Library Law and Risk Management
  • May: Trustee Roles & Responsibilities
  • June: Budgeting in Idaho
  • July: Marketing
  • August: Strategic Planning? (In-Person)
  • September: Other Duties as Assigned: Your facility and Operations
  • October: Cohort choice, decided in August

Specific days and times of the sessions will be set after cohort selection to find a time that works for as many staff as possible.

The 2024 Cohort members and Libraries are:

Stephanie Adamson – Aberdeen District Library (District)

Nicole Askew – Glenns Ferry Public Library (City)

Debbie Berger – Mullan Public Library (City)

Danelle J Boylan – Kellogg Public Library (City)

Ellamae Burnell – Prairie River Library District (District)

Kathy Davis – Benewah County Free Library District (District)

Maegan Hanson – Buhl Public Library (City)

Catriona Hardy – Lizard Butte Library (District)

Christina Heilman – Valley of the Tetons Library (District)

Lindsay Russell – Challis Public Library (City)

Megan Short – South Bannock Library District (District)

Aleisha A. Stout – Idaho Falls Public Library (City)

Beth Swenson – Idaho Falls Public Library (City)

Vanessa Velez – East Bonner County Library District (District)

The 2023 Cohort graduates and Libraries were:

Lori Clark-Middleton Public Library (City)

Deleice Ward- Payette Public Library (City)

Melanie Cope-Armoral Tuttle (New Plymouth) Public Library (City)

Timbra Long-Weiser Public Library (City)

Viktor Sjoberg- East Bonner County Library District (District)

Jennifer Grobey- Plummer Public Library (City)

Shasta Hochstrasser-Mountain Home Public Library (City)

Nick Grove-Meridian Library District (District)

Cindy Bjorneberg- Hansen Community Library (District)

Debbie Carpenter-Filer Public Library (City)

Tayce Robinson-Burley Public Library (City)

Michelle Tolman- Bonneville County Library District (District)

Cresta Craner-Portneuf District Library (District)

Kaylene Christensen-North Bingham County District Library (District)