“I’m pleased that Idaho library staff can take part in the Framing the Future trainings. This multi-state effort, funded by IMLS, meets the needs of many different sized public libraries and will provide practical ideas library staff can begin implementing right away.” – Stephanie Bailey-White, Idaho State Librarian

The Idaho Commission for Libraries, along with five other states, is part of a federal grant project called Framing the Future: Advancing Strategic Planning in Small and Rural Libraries. The goal of this grant is to encourage small and rural libraries to create plans that help improve services and establish the library as the powerful community center it can be for everyone in the community.

This grant project has three parts:

  • Part 1 – learn about making everyone feel welcome at the library
  • Part 2 – learn about the importance of strategic planning
  • Part 3 – participate in a community-focused planning session, led by zero to low-cost facilitators trained in how to lead listening sessions and plan development

Before learning about strategic planning and holding planning sessions, the first stage of this project is designed to increase our awareness of how to help build a welcoming community. Librarians and board members have the power to help build a kinder, safer community.

If you are interested in participating in this exciting opportunity, we ask that you take one of the following online classes:

We’re All in This Together: Serving the Whole Community – Suzanne Reymer, Montana State Library
This session will introduce community engagement concepts by looking at census data. Participants will talk about equitable services – what that means and what it looks like. And, how can we make sure that those who are currently in underserved groups have a voice and feel included? This session will also focus on the ways libraries can be windows to the world. The same content will be presented three different times:

  • Tuesday, January 12, 2021 | 9 a.m. – 10 a.m. PT, 10 a.m. – 11 a.m. MT
  • Thursday, January 21, 2021 |noon – 1 p.m. PT, 1 p.m. – 2 p.m. MT
  • Wednesday, January 27, 2021 | noon – 1 p.m. PT, 1 p.m. – 2 p.m. MT
  • Tuesday, February 2, 2021 | 9 a.m. – 10 a.m. PT, 10 a.m. – 11 a.m. MT

Unpacking Racial Literacy: a 2-Part Series – Dr. Tanisha Brandon-Felder, Shoreline School District
Racial equity is the key in identifying all the ways in which we can build strong learning partnerships and  ensure equitable outcomes for students. Part 1 will establish a common vocabulary as a foundation for future growth in equity work and establish a culture of talking about race and equity. Part 2 will identify groups with cultural power, acknowledge groups without cultural power, use our power to recognize and call out oppression and to create opportunities for windows and mirrors to be present in the library.

  • Part 1: Tuesday, January 26, 2021 | noon – 2 p.m. PT, 1 p.m. – 3 p.m. MT
  • Part 2: Tuesday, February 23, 2021 | noon – 1:30 p.m. PT, 1 p.m. – 2:30 p.m. MT

Interested? Please register by completing the Framing the Future Course Registration form. Registration closes Friday, January 8, 2021.

Questions? Please contact Annie Gaines (annie.gaines@libraries.idaho.gov).

This project is made possible in part by the Institute of Museum and Library Services through the Laura Bush, Community Catalyst Grant number RE-246273-OLS-20. Arizona, Idaho, Montana, North and South Dakota, and Wyoming are participating in this project.